Words That Inspire Me to Act

red_logo

Just Do It.  Challenge.  Top that.  Help me.  All words that make me want to do something, better, more.  Two 56-day challenges ago a good friend of mine inspired me to act.  He may not know it but his introduction to me of the Whole Life Challenge (WLC) hit two words near and dear to my action sensors:  Challenge and Accountability.  Both words inspire me want to do something but for differing reasons.

One word hits my inner ego.  The part of my mind that says “don’t lose.”  The part of my mind that says you can’t do anything unless you try it.  This is the part of my mind that competes wildly with self doubt and doesn’t always win.  Such a loss means I stay dormant on the thought, inactive.  Almost hiding from the very thing that inspires me to act.

The other word hits the part of me that gets me moving.  Not exactly peer pressure but maybe a cousin of it.  When I think of always striving to do good I find I sometimes do good.  When I SAY I want to always do good I find it is harder to veer from that goal.  That’s the power of another set of eyes.  I find nothing inspires action in me more.  I’ll admit, there’s probably some first-childism surfacing here that only a therapist could explain.

As I embark on another 56-day journey I find myself more excited about this challenge than the previous two.  Maybe a part of the excitement is a lack of fear.  This time, I know I can do it.  Maybe not the challenge it once was but still a long ways from being a lay-up.  Some of the excitement is in the accountability.  It is the difference between eating 1/2 pound of M&Ms in the nights before the WLC started and eating raisins and cashews for “dessert” the night after the WLC started.  But primarily my excitement stems from the camaraderie with the other folks on the team.  It is fun to see the struggles, surprises and frankly learn more about people you thought you already knew everything (or at least a lot) from simple daily statements shared across the team.  From the challenge I know Alex has an odd affection for the cracker product.  My brother has a wit in writing I never knew existed.  Cindy fears meditating.  Tracy finds sneaky good meals that are compliant.  I look forward to learning what I’ll learn about others this round.

Lastly, a few parting thoughts for those on their first round of the WLC.  The first week is the hardest.  Getting food right takes time, effort and discovery.  Pinterest is your friend (yep, said it publicly).  If you need ideas on compliant meals, snacks, etc. let those who have done this help.  If you find things you like to eat, share it as most of us are still looking for the elusive joy in eating known as variety.  It is alright to fall off the wagon.  In fact, it is inevitable.  Wagons by nature move slow.  Just get back up and jump back on it.

Leave a Reply

