Summer 2013 – Part 2 – Our Lives

 

This summer seemed to step up the level of activities our kids enjoyed. We are really very lucky to be able to give our kids a) choices of activities and b) multiple activities to do over the summer. By the end of June I would have placed money on the fact that the favorite camp of the summer was going to be Stewart's Little Mermaid camp where she learned and performed a big chunk of the play in the span of a week or Camp Grammy and Poppy where they all spend a week in Columbus at a place I affectionately refer as the 'spoiling machine.' The latter consists of golf, ice cream, movies, ice cream, shopping ice cream, swimming, ice cream…you get the drill… But along came the ASC Greenway camps (the Adventure Seekers camp for Will and Stewart and the Little Critters camp for Charlie) where after a week the kids all deemed these the “BEST CAMPS EVER!” We loved them because the price was right, the experiences were priceless and best of all, most of it was spent outdoors in or near the woods.

Cindy and the kids enjoyed a quick trip to The Outer Banks (OBX) with her family. With such close proximity to our beach vacation in HHI and a new role at work, I hung back at Fort Sutton. What it really was best for was total and complete boredom. They had a great time with the highlights being bunk beds, shrimp boils and ice cream anytime the words were spoken. Pretty cool seeing pictures of Cindy's Mom and Dad laughing together.

There are some other events that happened this summer but it all went by so fast – a true blur. An Adventure Guides camping trip at Knight's Stadium where after a double header we got to camp out in the outfield, cookouts with friends, movies, sleepovers, soccer camps and did I mention rain and wacky weather? Maybe the wettest summer I can remember here in the Charlotte/Fort Mill area. Easily the coolest August I've ever spent in the area. My air conditioner-less car thanks the weather gods for this.

I probably sound like a broken record and there are certainly days where my words and demeanor on the outside do not reflect what I feel on the inside, but I am so very grateful for being able to provide my kids experiences and summers like this one. I realize that so many kids and families are not this fortunate and because of this I want to work harder to continue to build great experiences for my children but also ensure I am providing them with context on how good we have it and how not everyone is as fortunate. For them to see this and want to work to share their time helping those less fortunate is a goal I want to work harder to achieve in future summers. Not sure what and how to do this just yet – any ideas?

I sit here writing this 2nd post on all the great things that happened on my kids summer vacations realizing today is their first day of school (at least it is for the olders). Here's to another year of learning and excitement for going to school. One last area where I am thankful is for the fact that my kids have genuine excitement to be going back to school. In my opinion, schools are doing something pretty good when kids are excited to return after a pretty decent summer of activities and fun. Bring on the soccer (actually already well in flight), music lessons, Faith Formation, Tae Kwon Do, Chess Club, Curriculum Nights, Field Trips, etc…We. Are. Ready.

Click here for a slideshow of Stewart's Little Mermaid Camp

Click here for a slideshow of the OBX trip

Click here for a slideshow of the DuMont's Baptism celebration

Click here for a random set of pics from July

 

Leave a Reply

