Stewart Turns 8 (and Grandpa turns 8+62)!

   

Sounds more timely and exciting than it really is.  See normally, at minimum, you can count on this blog being, if nothing else, a chronological review of life in Sutton-ville.  Not so fast!  Timeline trickery!  See, Stewart’s birthday was in March…BEFORE The Masters post, yet I am only now posting about it…AFTER the Masters post. Sneaky, I know.  I could have really messed with the minds of the 15 readers of this blog and put our Spring Break stuff up before Stewart’s birthday and after The Masters but, alas, I won’t get crazy…

She’s 8.  All of it.  My daughter is 8.  She’s amazing.  Goofy.  Funny.  Sometimes a bit too full of attitude.  Most of the time she’s brimming with awesome.  This year she had a camp out celebration with the Adventure Guides on Copperhead Island, a small sleepover with Krispy Kreme donuts a week later and then a trip to see Taylor Swift in the arena in Charlotte.  Pretty big 3 week extravaganza, I’d say.  On a slight aside, Stewart and I (and her buddy Kylie) enjoyed Taylor Swift (me more than I thought I would) but really thought Ed Sheeran stole a bit of the show with his loop pedals (look it up).  Taylor Swift does really knows her audience and impressed me with her ability to show the young kids a good example who seemed very appreciative of their support.  Even if it is all an act and comes falling down in a pit of Lindsay Lohan/Brittany Spears failure, she did a good job of doing no harm and inserting very little in the way of questionable-ness into her show.  I, the father of an 8 year old who took her to said show, am very thankful for that.  As a 40 year old, my ear drums will never recover from the high-pitched squealing of said target audience.  In addition to the fun of her birthday and the birthday season, we have also successfully completed the birthday cake detox after what seemed like 2-3 months of non-stop cake product intake.

Not much else going on here.  About 8 more weeks of school and then we head to HHI for vacation.  Oh yeah, I got a new job at the bank.  After 27 months, it seemed like a good time for a change.  I’m pretty lucky and grateful to have the choice of career movement.

Click here for a slideshow of the 8 year old birthday extravaganza.

Click here for a slideshow of the 8 year old at the Taylor Swift concert.

Click here for a slideshow of the 8 year old camping at Copperhead Island.

Leave a Reply

