Leap Day…and oh, yeah pictures too…

Leap Day in a Leap Year.  Same as any other day, right?  Not really.  I spent it with one of my passions.  The Men’s Shelter of Charlotte.  I didn’t spend the entire day there and I didn’t intentionally schedule my time there on Leap Day in a Leap Year but it just kind of worked out that way.  I introduced two small groups of people to the need of the Men’s Shelter of Charlotte.  No ulterior motive.  Just expanding horizons.  Just seeing where a match of interest with wherewithal with conviction might end up.  In the past these introductions have taken the Shelter into unknown and fruitful territory.  Why not again now?  In hindsight, I think about how I used this extra day this year and wonder why not make more days like this on normal days in all years.  20-30% of the men in the Shelter are “career homeless” men.  Just 20-30% and most of them have a reasonable root cause like mental disability versus raw intention.  This leave the other 70-80% of the men in the category of emergency need.  All men need some form of help…but these men, the 70-80% can be cured with simple services, protection from a deeper fall and short amount of time and small amounts of some care.  The need is great.  These men aren’t women.  They aren’t women with children.  They aren’t typically the elderly.  They are often the easiest to forget.  The easiest to look past.  They are also the hardest to “cure.”  Today was a good day.  I need to make more days focused on such service.  I hope you’ll join me.  While you are at it, bring a friend to help.  There are many, many needs.  All needs are great.  All deeds here are good.

 

 

Uh, so pictures. Right. The reason I started this blog. Right. To share family pictures.  Right. I guess it has been a while, hasn’t it?  I’m not exactly sure what the cause of my posting laziness has been.  Given the infrequency of my posting here it is even odder that I actually desire to write much more often than I ever end up doing.  Blogging shyness?  Confidence?  Or are we just a bit busy?  Could be a touch of all I imagine.  Anyways.  Here we are.  Two months worth of stuff loaded into roughly 2-3 sets of pictures.  The past few months have seen us at Will’s Basketball Games, Charlie, Cindy and Marilyn’s birthdays, a trip to Columbia, SC to visit the Edventure Science Museum and have entailed the purchase of a new family car (possible blog post?).

For a slideshow of random pictures of our January click here.

For a slideshow of our trip to Edventure click here.

For a slideshow of Charlie’s 3rd birthday click here.

For any and all of our pictures on Flickr click here.

One thought on “Leap Day…and oh, yeah pictures too…

  1. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I am hoping to view the same high-grade content from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own website now 😉

Leave a Reply

