Resolutions, First a Look Back at 2011

Not so fast…by now you know my drill here.  First, take a look at last year’s resolutions.  THEN, build the resolutions for this upcoming year.  So how did I do?  I’d give myself a B-.  Good work on some.  Others still need work.  Sometimes a lot of work.  Some were ridiculous and simply need to be removed.  Put them in the “it sounded good at the time” category but not tremendously realistic.  Here’s my year end look (in blue) at what I had resolved to do in 2011.  For the truly mundane view of my life you can look back to midyear 2011 resolutions update and compare.  Then a post on what I’ll do better in 2012.

2011 RESOLUTIONS

Marriage:

  • Plan 1 date night per month – this used to be about getting the sitter but in 2011 this means planning the events of the date. 3 at the mid point of 2011 and finished with 3 at the year end mark.  Lame.  This one gets removed next year – the reality is I don’t like calling babysitters.  They don’t know me.  I don’t know them.  
  • More active listening; less one-way talking.  Good days and bad days on this one.  Sleep plays a role.  Less sleep = less listening.   
  • Fall asleep on the couch less.  Go to bed instead. I’M CURED!!  Couple lapses here and there but getting up earlier forces me to go to bed earlier which helps keep me from sleeping on the couch.  Success!
  • Smile at and laugh with Cindy daily. This is a keeper.  I think I was successful.  Busier or travel days required a laugh through texting or even an email. Look for this again in 2012.  The reminder helped.

Fatherhood:

  • Be at home eating at the table for 2 weekday dinners (must make this a priority).Fail…I’m money with Fridays…must. do. better. Need some help here.  Suggestions?
  • Re-establish weekly family activity night – don’t limit to only games but also hikes, bike rides, movies, etc…Success!  Regular game nights.  Summer Friday’s at friends. 
  • Golf with the kids 1x per month (Mar-Sept). Success!  More like Mid-April – August but good fun.  Stewart even joined in a few times.  Need to keep this up next year.
  • 1×1 time with each kid outside of the home monthly – the kids build the plan.  Not so much.  Golf helped but never got to be truly 1×1 time monthly.  
  • More laughter and less lecturing with my kids (2009/2010 repeat – still working on it). How do you decide when to teach and when to let things go?  I don’t have this one down.  My tendency is to lecture.  Some of this is fear on my side.  Fear of not getting them all the info.  Fear of how they act when we aren’t around.  I need to let go more – we have good kids.  Really good kids. 

Health and Fitness:

  • Yoga 2x per week (get back on the wagon here). Late year success.  100% since October.  Started with P90X version and moved to 5:15am Wed/Fri classes at the Y.  Love it!
  • Push-ups 3x per week building up to 5 sets of 30 (currently 2x at 5 sets of 24). 4 sets of 32 right now.  5 sets never seems to happen – 4 sets fit nicely in the shower/shave morning routine.
  • Ab exercises 15 min once a week (“you love it but you hate it”). Strong Jan-May.  Weak May – August.  Strong September – December.  Calling it a win.  2x weekly in 2012? 
  • Continue no-meat diet (fish/shrimp are ok). SUCCESS!
  • Run with Purpose – donate $2 (pre-corporate match) per mile every mile run in 2011; target 1300 miles. 900 mile year due to 2 calf issues in May and Oct.  Exceeded the goal in giving but didn’t get to the mileage goal.
  • Run sub 1:30 half marathon (either standalone or in a full) (targeting a fast 13 in mid-Nov) Didn’t run any halfs for time in 2011.  2012?
  • Run sub-30 hour BRR with 6-man team (run sub-8 min pace for my 6 legs). Success!  29 hours and 45 minutes.  Back again in 2012?  Hard to think we won’t…
  • Register for the 2012 Boston Marathon! N/A yet   Nope.  They wouldn’t have me.  Cutoff was 3:13.40.  I ran 3:14.20 when qualifying was published at 3:15.59.  I’m over it but it took several months.  Not sure I’m terribly interested in it given you never really know what time you need to run to qualify.  This year 3:13.40, next year it could be lower or higher depending on how many fast qualifiers they have that year.  Too complicated to care.  I qualified under the rules I knew and feel great about that.  I don’t feel so great about the Boston Athletic Association needless to say.

Personal Well-being:

  • Continue to rise everyday at 5 am. SUCCESS! Everyday – 4:45 except for yoga days and Saturday runs where it is 4:30. I love my morning time.
  • Read 18 books (up from 15 read in 2010) and continue to document via blog. Fail.  14 read.  Bill Bryson’s “A Short History of Nearly Everything” sank me. 
  • Work: be more confident, less fearful and have more fun. Definitely having more fun in this new role!  Confidence is an object I may forever chase.
  • Pursue “presentness” to help better engage with all people in my life (taking all tips/advice here). Work in progress – I don’t think I can do this enough.
  • Write for fun more (via blog) – target 2 entries per week or roughly 100 per year.  Fail – nowhere near it.  More like 20 entries/year.  But I still aspire to write/share more.
  • Visit more museums with the kids – target 6 in 2011. 2 down, 4 to go.  I’m calling this a success.  We hit 2 more before YE but visited Discovery Place multiple times for multiple different exhibits (e.g. Mummies, etc.).  This is an easy win in 2012 given our plans to visit DC.
  • Attend 4 concerts – I always love seeing live music and therefore I should do this more. 2 of 4 on the year.  If you count school events this one was a success?  If not, fail.  Metallica and Britney Spears?  Wow.  Already 2 on the books for 2012 with purchased tickets for Radiohead in Atlanta and The Black Keys/Artic Monkeys here in Charlotte.
  • Exceed 2010 charitable giving levels. We blew this one out of the water.  Yay us.  2012 will be all about more time on top of financial support.
  • Call my parents at least weekly – I always enjoy hearing from them. Uh-oh…the most basic of things…3 thoughts: 1) we need to do better – maybe key off of fun events in our lives to share with them?  2)  Mom/Dad – if you are reading this you need to have a resolution here too.  We love it when you call us too.  3) Maybe forgo the phone and walk down the street to visit them?  With 4 of their 4 grandkids in the same town how can they not move closer?  We will never understand – take the plunge.  I’ll put aside my “I never help people of 25 years of age move” rule and help you guys.  If Fort Mill/Charlotte is too much try out Greenville for a bit.  As a smart one at Nike once said:  Just do it.

Well – that’s the year in review as far as my resolutions are concerned.  Overall a great year.  Points of pride:  Charity, early rising, exercise, diet/nutrition, sleeping in my bed vs. on the couch, game night and golf with the kids.  Points needing work:  Presentness.  Dinners with the family.  Patience.

2012 Resolutions are in the works.  Could even go up today.  Keep an eye out – or don’t.  I won’t blame you.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Resolutions, First a Look Back at 2011

  1. Pingback: 2012 Resolutions – Something Old, Something New, Nothing Blue #SuttonScoop2012 « suttonscoop – the blog for all things Sutton

  2. Pingback: 2013 Resolution Time! But Wait, that’s not all – 2012 Year in Review Too! « suttonscoop – the blog for all things Sutton

  3. Pingback: Grateful for Resolutions | suttonscoop

  4. Pingback: 2015: This Year I Will… | suttonscoop

Leave a Reply

