2011 Resolutions – The Mid-year Update

Well, nearly 8 full months have passed since I publicly set my goals for the New Year.  To borrow a Covey-ism, a “sharpening of the saw” if you will.  I fear that I’m not doing well, but if the saw was already sharp would I need goals in the first place…exactly.  It should also be noted that Cindy still refers to this as the year of “less is more” – although not sure I see that as much as aspire to see it.

So, without further ado, wish me luck.  The full original link can be found here.  Here it goes (updates in blue):

 

2011 RESOLUTIONS

Marriage:

  • Plan 1 date night per month – this used to be about getting the sitter but in 2011 this means planning the events of the date. I think I have planned 3 total dates.  That’s roughly 5 shy.  Two of them were to the same restaurant (Passion8 Bistro). Do I have 9 in me to get to the average by YE?
  • More active listening; less one-way talking.  I’m trying harder hear.  Success is likely in the eyes of the speaking…Cindy?
  • Fall asleep on the couch less.  Go to bed instead. I’M CURED!!!! Basically, I stopped sitting on the couch.  Amazing what a chair can do.
  • Smile at and laugh with Cindy daily. 6 days a week?  I think so.  The reminder to strive for even more was worth including this one…

Fatherhood:

  • Be at home eating at the table for 2 weekday dinners (must make this a priority). Fail…I’m money with Fridays…must. do. better.
  • Re-establish weekly family activity night – don’t limit to only games but also hikes, bike rides, movies, etc…Friday fun night with the neighbors helped here.  Friday game night is back strong with school being back in.
  • Golf with the kids 1x per month (Mar-Sept). SUCCEED! Will and I are playing 9 holes nearly weekly.
  • 1×1 time with each kid outside of the home monthly – the kids build the plan. Each kid? Fail.  2 of 3?  Winning!
  • More laughter and less lecturing with my kids (2009/2010 repeat – still working on it). WIP – can always do better here…I just have so much to say.  Maybe this one should read “say less”?

Health and Fitness:

  • Yoga 2x per week (get back on the wagon here). Fail – not sure why.  
  • Push-ups 3x per week building up to 5 sets of 30 (currently 2x at 5 sets of 24). I’m at 4 sets of 30.  Getting there.
  • Ab exercises 15 min once a week (“you love it but you hate it”). Strong through May when I strained a abdominal muscle…still not 100% (or it’s a hernia/early appendicitis…).
  • Continue no-meat diet (fish/shrimp are ok). SUCCESS!
  • Run with Purpose – donate $2 (pre-corporate match) per mile every mile run in 2011; target 1300 miles. 1300 Miles may be tough with having to take 6 weeks off in May early June.  
  • Run sub 1:30 half marathon (either standalone or in a full) (targeting a fast 13 in mid-Nov)
  • Run sub-30 hour BRR with 6-man team (run sub-8 min pace for my 6 legs). (3 weeks out)
  • Register for the 2012 Boston Marathon! N/A yet (Sept 19 is my registration date…please, please, please be kind BAA!)

Personal Well-being:

  • Continue to rise everyday at 5 am. SUCCESS!
  • Read 18 books (up from 15 read in 2010) and continue to document via blog. 12 books down, 6 to go.
  • Work: be more confident, less fearful and have more fun. Definitely having more fun in this new role!
  • Pursue “presentness” to help better engage with all people in my life (taking all tips/advice here). hmmm…I’ll get back to you here.
  • Write for fun more (via blog) – target 2 entries per week or roughly 100 per year.  About 60 entries off pace…maybe a touch aggressive? 
  • Visit more museums with the kids – target 6 in 2011. 2 down, 4 to go.  Need a strong finish.
  • Attend 4 concerts – I always love seeing live music and therefore I should do this more. 1 of 4 so far…unbelievably, Britney Spears (without kids…what am I doing?) will get me to 2…Must find my man card…
  • Exceed 2010 charitable giving levels. On track and potentially already exceeded!  Yay!
  • Call my parents at least weekly – I always enjoy hearing from them. Uh-oh…need to do better.

I reserve the right to edit these through mid-January… Happy New Year!

Alright – good to see where I stand.  Some bright spots (reading, diet, work, charity, golf and Cindy) and some definite areas to focus on (family dinners, museums, date night planning, less lecturing to name a few).  Re-focus starts now…

One thought on “2011 Resolutions – The Mid-year Update

  1. Pingback: Resolutions, First a Look Back at 2011 « suttonscoop – the blog for all things Sutton

Leave a Reply

