February = Birthdays

Cake, cake and more cake.  So much of it that I can honestly say I don’t crave it in the least right now.  I’m hoping it wears off prior to Stewart’s birthday or sadly, she may be getting an ice cream cake or maybe even a cookie cake.  I’ve had so much cake in the past month even those two alternative options don’t sound great.  We had Chard the other night and it was a wonderful contrast to the weeks of cake we have had.  In all seriousness, and a complete aside, Chard is quite delightful.  So much so that I feel the need to capitalize the word in my writing not once, but twice.

Anyways – back to the topic.  Cake and birthdays.  The cakes were all nice and most of them homemade (Cindy is truly an artist with cake as her canvas).  Here’s proof:  We have had so much cake lately that Cindy apparently wasn’t getting enough nutrients and has been stricken with the flu.  Best I can tell she is breathing but not yet moving.  On 4 visits today she was only awake one of them.  There are white t-shirts with more color than her face right now.  Something tells me she’ll be first in line for the flu shot next season.

Which brings me to exactly where I am at right now.  135 minutes into Charlie’s naptime (hoping he makes it a solid 150-180 minuter) having wasted almost all but the last 5 minutes (debatable, I know but you’re still reading, right?) aimlessly catching up on my Google Reader articles, wondering why I have yet to shower today and about halfway through the 2nd pass of the 2010 Radiohead In Rainbows performance in “Live From the Basement” – an absolutely amazing live performance. The song “Where I End and You Begin” off of the Hail to the Thief album at 49:28 is spectacular.  Poof!  Over 2 hours of my life I likely won’t get back.  Will’s at a friends house and Stewart’s resting after crashing directly into a magnolia tree on her bike.  She was trying to catch her brother who passed her in the grass when she got waaaay out of control until the magnolia tree promptly got her back under control.  Thank goodness for helmets.  She’s tough, she rode home.  The family driving in their car who stopped to see if she was ok had a nice view of a crazy wreck…not fun to watch as a father.

Where was I?  Right.  Birthdays.  We’ve had our share, hence the cake overload.  Charlie, then Emma,  then Nanny and then Cindy.  3 weeks off and then Stewart and Mom are next.  Good times.  Pictures to prove it.  Even some videos sprinkled into the slide shows – nice new feature Flickr!  Enjoy them.

Click here to see a slide show of Charlie’s birthday (plus a few videos).

Click here to see a slide show of Cindy’s birthday.

Click here to see Stewart get her Yellow Belt in Tae Kwon Do (plus a few videos).

Click here to see all of our pictures via Flickr.

Leave a Reply

