2010 – The Year in Review

First off, HAPPY NEW YEARS!!!  2010 – it was a good year.  A fun year.  A fast year.  At times, a stressful year.  I will avoid re-hashing in explicit detail, after all, that’s what this website is intended to do.  I wrote a bit more which I am finding I enjoy doing when I actually sit down and do it.  I feel like I worked more which in an odd way I think brought the overall quality of my work down from my standard.  We took some great vacations again this year (e.g. beach trips, hiking trip, etc.).  We spent quality time together as a family.  With each passing year I am more thankful for what I have.  With each passing year I feel like I am not doing enough for those who are less fortunate.  I still have a strong urge to one day run my own business.  The first step to setting my goals for the coming year is to first look back at my performance against my goals in the prior year (here’s where I stood at the midpoint of 2010).  Clearly some of my goals need to carry forward into 2011 as they are still works in progress.  Some, although not accomplished, will likely fall off as they aren’t as much of a priority.

2010 RESOLUTIONS

Marriage:

  • Setup 1 date per month (continue to go on 2 dates per month). Honestly a fail for me.  I think I setup 2 all year.
  • Enable all “Girls Nights” and “Girls Trips” for Cindy.  Achieved.
  • Play together (e.g. cards, Wii, scrabble, etc.) 2x per month.  Partial credit for this one – while we did sit down and play games periodically it was typically either on Wii or iPhone/iPods.

Fatherhood:

  • Be at home eating at the table for 2 weekday dinners.  Fail. I likely made 3 overall dinners a week but I needed 2 weekend nights.  Requires an earlier work arrival – I’ll keep pursuing this.
  • Re-establish weekly family game night. Partial credit here.  We play lots of games as a family.  Could be more of a weekly “event” which I know the kids enjoy.
  • Golf with the kids 1x per month. We did great here through August/September.  I blame the weather on the rough finish.
  • Weekly bike rides with the kids (need a little help from Stewart here…) Yes – cold weather months aside.
  • More laughter and less lecturing with my kids (2009 repeat – needs more work). Fail.  I need a lot of work here.  Any and all advice welcome.

Health and Fitness:

  • Yoga 2x per week (2009 repeat).  I completely fell of the wagon in August.  Strangely coincides with my hiking trip where I talked a big game about how consistent I was.
  • Eat less chicken – continue no red meat. Success!  If you meat and you are not shrimp or fish, you aren’t in my body.  I feel the difference.
  • Run with Purpose – donate $1 per mile every mile run in 2010. Success! I will have run nearly 1200 miles in 2010 and donated accordingly with full corporate matching. Cool.
  • Run 3:15.59 at the 2010 Thunder Road (Charlotte) Marathon. Success! Proof writing it down helps.  Ran 3:14.20, my PR by over 6 minutes and officially qualified for Boston!
  • Run sub-30 hour BRR with 6-man team (run sub-8 min pace for my 6 legs). Partial credit. I averaged 7:50s for 44 miles.  We finished a few minutes above 30 hours.  Even more significant was watching Cindy kick arse on our team this year.

Personal Well-being:

  • Say more with less – fewer words in professional settings both with writing and speaking. Success but can still improve.
  • Start everyday at 5:30am (latest). Success – 5am is the new norm for me (vacations aside).
  • Read 18 books (up from 14 read in 2009) and continue to document via blog. Fail. Read 15. Improvement over 2009 but not the goal.  Darn you “Atonement”!
  • Work: lead more proactively;  Build framework for others to follow.  Honestly I am not sure where I fall here.  I always feel there is room for improvement at work.
  • Learn “presentness” to help better engage with all people in my life (taking all tips/advice here).  Continues to need serious work.
  • Develop better gift-giving habits – surprise people with small thought-filled gifts.  Wow I stink at this.  Needs serious work.

Overall not a terrible performance.  Of 19 goals I gave myself full or partial credit on 12 (ok, I grade with a curve).  There are some big areas needing continued focus and some new areas that I know I want to place focus in the coming year.  Stay tuned for a coming post in the next few days/weeks on what these will be (dum, dah, dum! Cliffhanger!).  Happy New Year everyone!

16 thoughts on “2010 – The Year in Review

  1. Nice work Jason. Which is your most impressive achievements? I’d say qualifying for Boston, 5am wakeups and consistently delivering on the wkly bike ride with kids.

  2. Pingback: 2012 Resolutions – Something Old, Something New, Nothing Blue #SuttonScoop2012 « suttonscoop – the blog for all things Sutton

  3. Pingback: 2013 Resolution Time! But Wait, that’s not all – 2012 Year in Review Too! « suttonscoop – the blog for all things Sutton

  4. Monitors that can detect your childs slightest movement.
    Unlike audio monitor, an analog monitor, ensure that your child
    may have while resting. The receiver will amplify any best
    baby monitors noise your baby makes, and those features are actually more helpful and worth the money!
    Three types of Baby monitors are there to give deaf parents
    the same security as any other parent. Then there is also some expensive ones that you
    will have a two-way talk-back feature. A pad with best baby monitors wires is a
    little lesser.

  5. Pingback: Grateful for Resolutions | suttonscoop

  6. I believe everything said was very reasonable.
    However, what about this? suppose you wrote a catchier title?

    I am not suggesting your content is not solid, but suppose you added a headline that makes people want more?
    I mean 2010 – The Year in Review | suttonscoop is a little plain. You ought to look at Yahoo’s front page
    and note how they create post headlines to grab viewers to open the links.
    You might add a related video or a picture or two to grab readers interested about what you’ve got to
    say. In my opinion, it would make your blog a little livelier.

  7. I do not create a ton of responses, however i did some searching and
    wound up here 2010 – The Year in Review | suttonscoop. And I actually do have 2 questions for
    you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it look like some of the responses appear as if they
    are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on other places,
    I would like to follow anything new you have to
    post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of your communal sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  8. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It will always be helpful to read through content from other authors and use a little something from other websites.

  9. With the use of the most popular gender selection at a top London infirmary latterly claimed that she was more how to conceive
    a girl likely to thrive. The whole key is making sure you know about it and
    how to conceive a girl you want. Stopping OrgasmThe orgasm that creates the environment
    more alkaline, which deposits sperm closer to the egg is
    released, leaving those pesky Y sperm, since men and women always tend to live without.
    It may seem impossible to conceive a girl may
    perhaps survive wont ruin the moment.

  10. Pingback: 2015: This Year I Will… | suttonscoop

Leave a Reply

